Yuonnes Blog

Acoustic Research ARW20 2.4GHz Modular Wireless System with 2 Receivers Black-Retail $249.99! Sale Only $188.44!

Posted by hgoise on July 27, 2010

Acoustic Research ARW20 2.4GHz Modular Wireless System with 2 Receivers Black

Acoustic Research ARW20 2.4GHz Modular Wireless System with 2 Receivers Black-Retail $249.99! Sale Only $188.44!

Compare & Purchase Acoustic Research ARW20 2.4GHz Modular Wireless System with 2 Receivers Black at Amazon by clicking here!

List Price: $249.99

Amazon Price: $188.44

Click Here To Purchase At Amazon!

Acoustic Research ARW20 2.4GHz Modular Wireless System with 2 Receivers Black Description:

Conceal the wires of your rear surround speakers with the help of the ARW20 by Acoustic Research. The modular wireless speaker conversion system converts rear surround speakers from your existing speaker system and makes them wireless. The ARW20 can be used for wireless Zone 2. It includes a transmitter with 5-channel speaker-level input and subwoofer line-level input, two 60-Watts amplified receivers, and a subwoofer receiver.

  • Amazon Sales Rank: #30675 in Consumer Electronics
  • Color: Black
  • Brand: Acoustic Research
  • Model: ARW20
  • Dimensions: 1.81″ h x 7.09″ w x 4.92″ l, 4.40 pounds

Features

  • 2.4GHz modular wireless system
  • Makes existing rear surround speakers wireless
  • Transmitter with 5-channel speaker-level input and subwoofer line-level input
  • 2 amplified receivers (60 Watts)
  • Subwoofer receivers

Customer Reviews:

Works Perfectly5
I built my Great Room (22ft x 32ft) 10 years ago to accommodate a 5.1 system. All the speaker wiring is in the walls to connect a BOSE Accoustimass 15 cube speaker system. Then along comes 7.1 and I buy this amazing 7.1 Marantz amplifier but I have no way to run wires for the left side/right side surround speakers. I search high and low for wireless thinking this should be easy but no way, and as many of you have learned there is seemingly nothing that addresses this problem. EVERYTHING on the market is for 5.1 back surround but not 7.1 SIDE surround.
This means suppliers assume you can run speaker wire across the back wall from ONE receiver to TWO speakers. Well, obviously you cant do that when its 7.1 side speakers, not back. You can’t run wire through the middle of a room. I sure can’t. Then I discover Acoustic Research (AR).
Acoustic Research apparently gets this problem. Hence, TWO receivers – or actually as many single receivers as you need up to five. The transmitter has 5 outputs – then One receiver per speaker, including one for a subwoofer.

Other Issues – Then I learn that signal delay is a problem. And secondly, also that there is a loud hum on AR wireless in standby mode. (Some on line reviewer complained about it, and it is true . . . sort of)

So here’s the review – I took a chance on this, granted expensive, system. I figured I could always return it if I was not satisfied.

I am amazed.

1. There is absolutely NO delay in signal – the two wireless speakers are giving perfect sound reproduction in tandem with my BOSE Accoustimass 15 System (1998 system 5.1) the two new wireless speakers are in perfect synch with the other 5 speakers.

2. I added 2 new BOSE Accoustimass cube speakers L/R side speakers to get 7.1 (by the way – the Bose factory says don’t run their speakers direct to the amplifier, only connect them through their sub-woofer module – but the internet buzz says that’s bull and they work fine direct from amp to speaker – and guess what, they work GREAT direct from amp AND on this wireless system.

3. The HUM thing – well the reviewer was right it does hum, but another reviewer said just run an RCA line from the AR transmitter/subwoofer RCA output to any unused RCA speaker input on your amp and that will ground the AR transmitter, eliminating the hum. Well he was absolutely right. I ran the AR Subwoofer output line on the transmitter to my amp (an unused speaker output) and the hum disappeared. PLUS I’ll go you one better. All amps have AC outlets so you can plug in peripherals, like WIRELESS transmitters. Plug your AR transmitter into the amplifiers “Switched” AC socket and when you turn off the amp you turn off the AR transmitter and your speakers go DEAD, No hum. Double protection against standby hum.

4. Another reviewer complained that AR interfered with his internet. Well, he’s right. I use my Apple lap top in the great room all the time, and it is hooked up to the internet wireless. And the AR is so strong (which is why it is so good) that it knocks my computer off the internet almost every time. Apparently they are both on the same frequency. But you know what? I can live with that because my new 7.1 sound system works so perfectly I don’t mind. Anyway – either watch and listen to your home theater or work on the internet – make a decision and live with it.

BOTTOM LINE – Acoustic Research has solved my problem and I am impressed beyond expectation. Yes it’s expensive but it is absolutely worth it!! It would have cost me a fortune to hire a contractor to run the wires through the walls so to me it’s cheap.

Leave a comment